Schedule

Note: This is content from Fall 2019 that will be replaced once Fall 2020 shapes up.

Lectures

On this is an online class, lectures are a combination of slides, short videos – and required reading plus self-guided exercises. We will aim to upload the lecture slides weekely.

Office Hours

Title Name Email Office Hours
Instructor Dirk Eddelbuettel online via zoom Mon 7:00pm-8:00pm
Course Assistant Alton Barbehenn Illini Hall 104 Mon + Wed 11am-noon

The same table is at syllabus/overview. For online office hours, links for the sessions will be emailed via compass2g announcement emails.

Computer-Based Testing Exams

The following dates have been reserved:

Week From To Late
Week 3 Fri, Sep 13 Mon, Sep 16 Tue, Sep 17
Week 5 Fri, Sep 27 Mon, Sep 30 Tue, Oct 1
Week 7 Fri, Oct 11 Mon, Oct 14 Tue, Oct 15
Week 9 Fri, Oct 25 Mon, Oct 28 Tue, Oct 29
Week 11 Fri, Nov 8 Mon, Nov 11 Tue, Nov 12
Week 15 Mon, Dec 2 Wed, Dec 04 Thu, Dec 05

Late days were offered in Spring 2019 but have not yet been confirmed for Fall 2019.

Each exam will be a standard CBFT session of 50 minutes. Please see the CBTF site for hours. Note that the weekend is in fact included so you generally have four complete days to choose the one hour block for your 50 minutes exam.

Homework

Note: To be determined / finalised. Spring 2019 times shown below.

We aim to have a homework each other week prior to the CBTF quiz.

Week Given Due
Homework 1 – Week 2 Thu, Sep 5 Thu, Sep 12
Homework 2 – Week 4 Thu, Sep 19 Thu, Sep 26
Homework 3 – Week 6 Thu, Oct 3 Thu, Oct 10
Homework 4 – Week 9 Thu, Oct 17 Thu, Oct 24
Homework 5 – Week 13 Thu, Oct 31 Thu, Nov 7
Homework 6 – Week 15 Fri, Nov 22 Fri, Nov 29

These are indicative dates which may be adjusted as needed.

Project Presentations

Group projects started after reading week. Teams have been formed.

We are aiming for lightning talk presentations by each team on May 2, 2019, from 2pm to 4:40pm in Room 138, Henry Administration Building.

More details will be forthcoming– but the general idea is to have five minutes per team along with five slides per team. Both limits are hard. Teams are expected to have presentation-ready slides in the RStudio Cloud environment (Markdown presentation). More details will be forthcoming.

The overall deadline for the group project will be Saturday, May 4, at 8pm.